Galleries Downloads Comics Tools Tutorials Seersha Filesharing
Wallpapers WTF ... ? Movies Software Links Forum Blog

News - 27.01.09: The german Springboard handbook, now for version 0.89a -

Software listings and recommendations (not necessarily related to CG)
Storyboard-Software
PDF-Software
Pdf? Yes! Adobe? No!

No, I'm not going to tell you why you shouldn't use the Acrobat Reader - you can google that and find out by yourself. Also, I'm not inclined to tell you a long-winded story why I hate Adobe products in general - try'em out yourself and get your own point of view.

But: if you are looking for replacements - there is near-to-nothing you can do with Adobe products that can't be done with other software. The workflow, of course, will be different. The results will not.

PDF is a great thing, and many self-published documents in the web rely on this format for several reasons. Also, there are a LOT of PDF read and write programs out there. My first choice since long time is the Foxit PDF Reader. I am using it for years now, and can't say a bad word about it. It's a small download (2.5 MB - compare that with the Adobe Reader) and ressource-friendly (4.5 MB of RAM - again, compare that with the "industry leader"). And yes - it's free of charge.

So, what are you waiting for? Go, give Foxit Reader a try!


     Page last updated on: 14.08.2008

Galleries Downloads Comics Tools Tutorials Seersha Filesharing
Wallpaper WTF ... ? Filme Software Links Forum Blog

News - 27.01.09: Das deutsche Springboard-Handbuch, jetzt für Version 0.89a -

Softwarelistings und -empfehlungen (nicht zwingend 3D-bezogen)
Storyboard-Software
PDF-Software
Pdf? Immer! Adobe? Niemals!

Nein, ich werd dir jetzt nicht erzählen, warum du den Acrobat Reader nicht benutzen sollst - google danach und mach dich schlau. Ich werd dir auch nicht umständlich erklären, warum ich Adobe-Produkte an sich hasse - verwende sie selbst und bild dir eine eigene Meinung.

Aber: wenn Du sie ersetzen willst - es gibt praktisch nichts, was du mit Adobe-Produkten machen kannst, das nicht auch mit anderer Software geht. Der Workflow mag sich unterscheiden, die Resultate häufig nicht.

PDF ist ne tolle Sache, und vieles im Internet, einschließlich selbst veröffentlichter Dokumente, wäre ohne das Format so nicht denkbar. Darum gibt es auch Massen an Software, um PDF zu schreiben und zu lesen. Meine erste Wahl ist seit langem der Foxit PDF Reader. Ich benutze ihn schon seit Jahren und kann nichts Schlechtes darüber sagen. Der Foxit ist ein kleiner Download (2,5 MB - vergleich das mit dem Adobe Reader) und echt ressourcenfreundlich (4,5 MB RAM - vergleich auch das mit dem "Standard"). Und ja - er ist kostenlos.

Also fackel nicht lang, wenn du nichts Besseres hast. Hol dir den Foxit Reader und gib ihm ne Chance!


     Diese Seite datiert vom: 14.08.2008